Creamy Paleo Ice Cream

I recently wrote a post about fruity Paleo ice cream.  I’m reporting back that it didn’t turn out as good as I thought it would…. and I have a solution.  🙂   The flavor of the fruity Paleo ice cream was wonderful.  But the texture was not what I’d hoped for.  I created a large batch of it and froze it overnight.  The next day it was like a brick of ice.  I had to thaw it for 2 hours just to be able to chisel into it.  Once I did, it was yummy.  But I’d hoped for a creamier texture.  If I made that recipe again, I’d apply two lessons learned:

1. Freeze it only about 2 hours.  I froze it overnight and got the problem noted above… the ice brick of fruit.  Had I only frozen it 2-3 hours I think the consistency would have been closer to what I was hoping for.

2. Make smaller batches.  I wanted a big batch so I could have some on hand, but once you freeze it for more than a few hours you end up with the ice brick.  So work in smaller batches, make it the day you want to use it, and enjoy!

NEW AND IMPROVED ICE CREAM….

After making the version noted above, I did some research online and found a better option.  This version is all over the internet and even the TV Show “The Chew” created a rendition of this last week.  That version includes almond butter, which I don’t eat and didn’t miss at all in my version.

Here are the instructions for making this Creamy Paleo Ice Cream that actually did look and taste like ice cream.

  • Cut up 2-4 bananas in slices about 1/4 inch thick.  I used 1/2 banana for each person I wanted to serve and it came out ok… except that we didn’t have enough for the seconds everyone wanted.  🙂
  • Lay them in a single layer and freeze them for 1.5-2 hours.
  • Put the frozen banana ‘chips’ into the food processor and add 2 packets of stevia per banana, cinnamon and nutmeg to your liking, 1 tbsp of vanilla, and 1/4 cup of cold milk (I use full fat raw milk).
  • Whirl it in the food processor for a few minutes until it starts to come together in a creamy texture.  If needed add a little more milk to thin it out to your liking.
  • Serve in a small dish, topped with fresh berries and homemade whipped cream!

Recipe - Creamy Banana Ice Cream

UPDATE: I recently ran across a recipe similar to mine.  It adds almonds, which sounds lovely.  You can find it here: http://paleoeatsandtreats.com/paleo/make-your-own-raw-banana

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Creamy Paleo Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Fruity Paleo Ice Cream | Paleo By Design

  2. Pingback: Sweet and Sugar Free Melon “Ice Cream” | Tea and Type

  3. If you liked this idea, check out a similar one, creamy sugar free melon ice cream. Over at Tea and Type. http://teaandtype.wordpress.com/2013/04/11/sweet-and-sugar-free-melon-ice-cream/comment-page-1/#comment-9

  4. Hannah says:

    Did this one freeze well? I want to make a paleo version of an ice cream cake in the Kraft Canada magazine this month – May 2013 – but don’t want the ice cream to be stiff as a brick.

    • Hi Hannah — no, unfortunately this one did not freeze well either. What I’ve taken to doing is keeping the sliced bananas in the freezer, which do keep well, and pulling out a hand full of them when I want to make a batch of the ice cream.

  5. Amy says:

    I’ll have to try this, sounds yummy. I think I will use coconut milk instead of raw milk.
    Thanks for the idea and the honest reporting of the results of your experiments!

  6. Suzette says:

    Hi All — here is a similar recipe that I just ran across. It adds almonds, which sounds lovely to me! Check it out. http://paleoeatsandtreats.com/paleo/make-your-own-raw-banana

Leave a Reply

