Fruity Paleo Ice Cream

Click here for an UPDATE to this post……

I ran across a post the other day by the good folks from PaleoEffects.com about Yonanas™ Ice Cream Treat Maker and how it isn’t necessary to buy the Yonanas machine in order to make frozen yogurt-ish treats.  I encourage you to check it out.  You’ll notice that I took a few liberties with my version of the recipe, adding WAY more bananas and some extra flavoring ingredients.  I encourage you to do the same.  If you love Vanilla, add it to your mixture.  Walnuts?  throw them in.

As the Paleo Effects post noted, it is as easy as combining all the ingredients in a food processor to blend them, then freeze the mixture.  That’s it.  Ice cream is one of my weaknesses so I was excited to learn about this great idea for a treat. Tonight, I tried it and it came out ok (so far) so I thought I’d share.  The taste was fabulous but I’ll have to report back tomorrow on how well it sets up and if it has the texture of frozen yogurt.  For now, here’s how I made it.

Get all the ingredients out.  My concoction includes 7 Bananas, organic Honey, Cinnamon, Vanilla Extract, 3 packets of Stevia (I use Sweet Leaf brand Stevia), a splash of organic milk, and some organic blueberries, strawberries, and blackberries.

IMG_2047

In the food processor I blended the bananas, 2 tablespoons of honey, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and 2 tablespoons of vanilla extract, with a splash of milk.  If you are following the Paleo approach very strictly and don’t eat dairy, you can skip the milk.  I eat limited dairy but only raw dairy from a local farm.

After blending the bananas, leaving some chunky pieces, I added 3 stevia packets and all the berries.  I used 1/2 pint of strawberries, a small container of blackberries, and a large container of blueberries (lots of antioxidants).

IMG_2049

I pulsed the mixture a few times in the processor to mix it well but still leave it somewhat chunky.

IMG_2051

I put the mixture in a glass dish to freeze it overnight.  There was a little too much to fit into the container… so of course I had to eat it.  🙂   I thought it tasted pretty darn yummy for just throwing it together.  I’ll let you know how it comes out after it’s frozen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fruity Paleo Ice Cream

  1. Aunt Mimi says:

    Sounds very yummy

  2. Pingback: Creamy Paleo Ice Cream | Paleo By Design

Leave a Reply

